|
amguy
|
 |
« on: November 30, 2009, 04:47:47 PM » |
|
check out this scam I got..now mind you the email was spot on like an ebay message..and where you click the yellow reply button o the right it said"to respond to this message you must download ebay message manager? with the yellow button "message manager"..I mean it was identical to any other email i recieve from ebay except for the "you must download message manager to reply" ...if any of you want me to forward the email onto you so you can see how authentic it looks PM me your email address...so i did headers and tracked down the IP and domain and did a who is it search and found the address and phone number of a david tamanini 4298 maryland court Harrisburg Pennsylania..so what i was going to do was find the county appraisers website for his county..copy the picture of that address(his house) off of it and send a reply email saying I would be there the next day with his tanzanite rough showing a picture of his house along with my email..the email was sent from him through "khanme.com"(con me) eBay sent this message to 770amguy. Your registered name is included to show this message originated from eBay. Learn more. This member has a question for you. Do not respond to the sender if this message requests that you complete the transaction outside of eBay. This type of offer is against eBay policy, may be fraudulent, and is not covered by buyer protection programs. Learn more. Dear 770amguy,
Hi,
This is exactly what I'm looking for. I would like to buy it asap. Please let me know how much are you looking for and how would you like to be payed. I'm looking forward to hear from you.
Thanks Mike
- lobert To answer this question download Message Manager MUSEUM SIZED GEM TANZANITE ROUGH CRYSTAL 178.20cts. Item Id: 260506817957 Buyer: lobert (244 ) 100.0% Positive Feedback Member since Jan-10-99 in United States Listing Status: This message was sent while the listing was active.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Give me a z-quiet and an aquamarine and call me in the morning
|
|
|
|
Jamey S.
|
 |
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2009, 08:43:11 PM » |
|
Hmmm... that location is only about 30-40mins from my house!!!! Anyone want to make a road trip!!?? HeHe! I soooo wish my law enforcement credentials were still valid here in PA!!!!!!! I could have had some serious fun with this one!
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
"I cut, therefore I am."-JKS Self-Taught Gemologist Registered Gemologist Research Gemologist Faceter/Cabber/Cutter Rockaholic/Gemaholic
|
|
|
Gimmejewels
Professionals
Sr. Member

Offline
Posts: 504
Keep all your junk...just GIMMEJEWELS.
|
 |
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 08:57:15 PM » |
|
So what did you do? 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
Lee Little
|
 |
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2009, 10:53:23 AM » |
|
OK, so what was the scam. I agree it sounds fishy but what was he up to?
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
amguy
|
 |
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2009, 11:51:31 AM » |
|
it's an exact copy of an ebay email but when you click what is usually the "respond" button..it ask for your ebay name and password and then the person has access to your ebay account..I forwarded it to ebay and this is what they sent me "Hello,
Thanks for forwarding the suspicious email you received.
The email is a spoof, also known as a "phishing," email. (That's phishing, as in "fishing" for personal information.) It didn't come from eBay. Our Trust & Safety team is working to disable any websites it links to.
Remember that you can always check the My Messages section of My eBay to see if a message from us is legitimate. Copies of any emails we send you about the status of your account or a change in your account information will be displayed in My Messages. This is especially helpful since many spoof emails try to convince you that your account is in jeopardy.
-- Important -- *Never* respond to a suspicious email or click any links in the email message. If you think you may have given out personal information in a spoof email or website, you need to take steps to protect your identity right away. For more information about what to do, go to: ........."
I bet it gets lots of folks..it's spot on ebay email
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Give me a z-quiet and an aquamarine and call me in the morning
|
|
|
Gimmejewels
Professionals
Sr. Member

Offline
Posts: 504
Keep all your junk...just GIMMEJEWELS.
|
 |
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2009, 12:39:33 PM » |
|
Thanks for the update, amguy. I'll be on the lookout. 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|
amguy
|
 |
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2009, 01:04:13 PM » |
|
My buddy who taught me the in's and out's of ebay told me what they will do lots of times is access your ebay accout and turbo list all at once like 1000 items..ipods..those zhu zhu dolls and crap like that..don't really know how that works
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Give me a z-quiet and an aquamarine and call me in the morning
|
|
|
Squeaky
Professionals
Sr. Member

Offline
Posts: 734
Please adopt a Rescue and Spay/Neuter your Pets!
|
 |
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2009, 09:37:31 PM » |
|
Someone listed a Lexus and Mercedes using my ID a couple of years ago now. Luckily I caught it when someone asked a question a couple of days into them - ebay shut them both down immediately. They wouldn't let me have the vehicles.....  I have gotten those type of emails for quite some time altho' not as often as I've not been listing or buying. I just forward them to eBay fraud dept email address and delete/delete the message - don't let it hang around in your trashcan either.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Lyresa D aka Sparky Gem Addict and ISG Student
Avatar is Sphalerite but I'm gonna change it to one of Amguy's tourmaline crystal pics soon...
All Designs by LyresaD copyrighted
|
|
|
|
amguy
|
 |
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2010, 04:38:46 AM » |
|
Just a heads up..a friend of mine just got a very well done paypal phishing ad yesterday..i have gotten two in the last 2 months so just be wary and keep your eyes open 
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Give me a z-quiet and an aquamarine and call me in the morning
|
|
|
|
hag916
|
 |
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2010, 12:48:52 PM » |
|
Remember that if you ever get email from Ebay they will address you by your actual name not your email address. It will never say: "Dear Barbell97" in the letter. That's one helpful hint.
|
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|